APF records logo

The Hyena Kill

Drawn together by a shared love of Queens of the Stone Age, Deftones, Helmet and Tool, Steven Dobb (vocals / guitar) and Lorna Blundell (drums) announced THE HYENA KILL’s arrival in 2012 with the release of the explosive Gush EP, four tracks of searing, coruscating distort-pop which exploded like a nail bomb into the subterranean noise scene. Via 2014’s Scrape My Bones EP and two further singles, 'Suck It Up' and 2015’s thrilling double-header 'Still Sick / Blisters' –the duo refined, honed and focused their fierce alternative rock sound into something harsher, leaner and altogether nastier. The result was their debut album Atomised (2016), an unflinching, brutal dissection of what it means to be skint, frustrated, alienated and adrift in modern Britain. This was followed up by the searing, gnarly yet majestic Spun EP (2018).

A new single ‘Bleached’, was released 3rd December 2020; a hard-hitting track about pure, toxic obsession. The track was the first taken from the new album A Disconnect, which was released via APF Records on 5th March 2021.  

With the album, the THE HYENA KILL announced the addition of two new members, Sam Jones (guitar/synths) and Charlie Seisay (bass), expanding from a duo to a ferocious-sounding four-piece. These new additions helped take their already expansive sound to another level, allowing the band more room in which to create and paving the way for a new era of THE HYENA KILL.